Skip to main content
AdvocacyHunger News and TrendsOur Community RespondsVote to End Hunger

Food Lifeline’s 2023 Legislative Awards

By December 15, 2023December 18th, 2023No Comments

We are proud to announce the recipients of Food Lifeline’s 2023 Legislative Awards! These awards are given to state lawmakers who have made significant contributions to food justice in Washington. Our partnership with elected officials is critical to advancing our mission of feeding people experiencing hunger today, while working to end hunger for tomorrow.

With sincere appreciation, we present the 2023 award winners.

Food Lifeline Legislative Champion Award

The Legislative Champion Award is given to legislators who:

  • Take primary sponsorship of legislation that advances Food Lifeline’s legislative priority agenda and public policy priorities.
  • Make special efforts to advance priority bills to passage that might have failed otherwise.
  • Defend against legislation that would threaten or diminish Food Lifeline’s legislative agenda and public policy priorities.
  • Secure important appropriations, revenue, or Capitol Budget funding for the work of Food Lifeline and/or its priorities.

Representative Marcus Riccelli

Prime sponsor, SHB 1878 – Providing Free School Meals for All

Senator T’wina Nobles

Prime sponsor SB 5339 – Providing Free School Meals for All

Representative Mia Gregerson

Prime sponsor, HB 1784, Hunger relief funding

Representative My-Linh Thai

Prime sponsor, HB 1477 – Making Changes to the Working Families’ Tax Credit

Representative Debra Entenman

HB 1559 – Hunger Free Campus

Representative Strom Peterson

HB 1447 – Strengthening the Ability of Assistance Programs to Meet Foundational Need of Children, Adults, and Families.

US Senator Patty Murray

South Seattle Community Food Hub Congressionally Directed Spending Award

Food Lifeline Legislative Award

The Legislative Award is given to lawmakers who:

Sponsor/Co-sponsor legislation that advances Food Lifeline’s legislative support agenda or public policy priorities AND demonstrates leadership to secure passage of said legislation.

Representative Clyde Shavers

Prime sponsor, HB 1499 – Emergency Food Assistance Program & HB 1346 – Military Family Hunger – Purple Star Award

Representative Mari Leavitt

HB 1009, Military Family Hunger – Spouse Employment

Food Lifeline Legislative Assistant Award

The Legislative Assistant Award is given to legislative staff who:

Are particularly helpful with providing information and facilitating legislative activity that advances Food Lifeline’s legislative agenda and public policy priorities, AND who help maintain effective partnerships with lawmakers.

Ms. Megan Utemei

Office of U.S. Senator Patty Murray

For leadership and stakeholder engagement related to developing opportunities for the South Seattle Community Food Hub.